Skip to main content

League of Women Voters®
of Boulder County

Serving the People of Boulder County, Colorado
HomeAbout the League

About the League

Our Mission and Roles

The League of Women Voters is a nonpartisan political organization, with its national office in Washington, DC, and local and state Leagues in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the Virgin Islands.

The LWV encourages informed and active participation in government. It influences public policy through education and advocacy.

Read our LWVUS Mission Statement and Core Values.

The League of Women Voters has two separate and distinct roles.

  • Voters Service/Citizen Education: we present unbiased nonpartisan information about elections, the voting process, and issues, and we organize candidate forums. We never support or oppose any political party or candidate.

  • Action/Advocacy: While the League is non-partisan, we use our Program Positions (see below) to advocate for or against particular policies and legislative proposals.

Program Positions

We are a grassroots organization. Our LWV Program consists of public issues chosen by members for study and ultimate action. As a study progresses, study team members fashion consensus questions that will then be addressed by the full League membership. Through discussion, League members reach consensus. From member consensus, the board drafts a position statement for member approval. If no position is adopted, action/advocacy on that issue cannot be taken.

Read our program positions on Boulder County isses..

Read our statewide LWVCO program positions

Download our national LWVUS program positions in PDF or read them online.

LWVBC at Work

LWVBC Board of Directors 2016-2017


President: Ruth Stemler
1st Vice President: Peggy Leech
2nd Vice President: Rionda Osman
Treasurer: Lurbin Moore
Secretary: Linda Hultman


Membership: Elizabeth Black
Voter Services: Susan Saunders
Public Relations: Yasi Taylor
Meetings: Peggy Leech
VOTER Newsletter Editor: Rionda Osman

  Team Leaders

Campaign Finance Reform Team: Shirley Jin
Health Care Team: Mary Anna Dunn
Schools Team: Linda Hultman
Social Policy Team: Mary Ann Wilner
Voting Methods Team: Celeste Landry

Bylaws of the LWVBC

To view or download the Bylaws of the LWVBC in .pdf (5p.) click here: 2017 LWVBC Bylaws


Our History

History of the League of Women Voters of the United States

The League of Women Voters was founded by Carrie Chapman Catt in 1920 during the convention of the National American Woman Suffrage Association. The convention was held just six months before the 19th amendment to the U.S. Constitution was ratified, giving women the right to vote after a 72-year struggle.

For a history of the national League of Women Voters or LWVUS, decade by decade, click here: LWVUS History.

To view a slide show of historical photos tracing our history click here:  History of the LWVUS through the Decades.

History of the League of Women Voters of Boulder County, Colorado

To read a 14-page account of the history of the LWVBC click here. An accompanying photo album will be available shortly. 


Here is a summary:


The League of Women Voters of Boulder County was formed in 2007 by the merger of the LWV of Longmont, founded in 1965, and the LWV of Boulder Valley (LWVBV). The LWV of (the city of) Boulder (LWVB), founded in 1931, was the first local League in Colorado. It became the LWV of Boulder Valley in 1984 by expanding to cover the same area as the Boulder Valley School District (BVSD), including Louisville and Lafayette.


Since the formation of the LWV of Boulder County in 2007, members have studied and taken action on issues in Boulder County and its municipalities and in both school districts, BVSD and St. Vrain Valley School District.