Skip to main content

League of Women Voters®
of Boulder County

Serving the People of Boulder County, Colorado
HomeOur History

Our History

History of the League of Women Voters of the United States

The League of Women Voters was founded by Carrie Chapman Catt in 1920 during the convention of the National Woman Suffrage Association. The convention was held just six months before the 19th amendment to the U.S. Constitution was ratified, giving women the right to vote after a 72-year struggle.

For a history of the national League of Women Voters or LWVUS, decade by decade, click here.

To view a slide show of historical photos tracing our history click here.

History of the League of Women Voters of Colorado

Read A Force for Change: the LWV of Colorado 1928–1995 by Wilma Davidson here. (Scroll down to title and click on section titles.)

History of the League of Women Voters of Boulder County, Colorado

To read a 14-page account of the history of the LWVBC click here. An accompanying photo album will be available soon. 


Here is a summary:


The League of Women Voters of Boulder County was formed in 2007 by the merger of the LWV of Longmont, founded in 1965, and the LWV of Boulder Valley (LWVBV). The LWV of (the city of) Boulder (LWVB), founded in 1931, was the first local League in Colorado. It became the LWV of Boulder Valley in 1984 by expanding to cover the same area as the Boulder Valley School District (BVSD), including Louisville and Lafayette.


Since the formation of the LWV of Boulder County in 2007, members have studied and taken action on issues in Boulder County and its municipalities and in both school districts, BVSD and St. Vrain Valley School District.